comparisons ·

Jobber vs Housecall Pro (2026): Pricing, Phones and AI Receptionists Compared

Justin McKelvey
Justin McKelvey Founder of Local Call AI. Built it after watching friends in the trades lose thousands of dollars to missed calls.

In short

Jobber publishes every price, including its AI Receptionist ($29 a month for 30 conversations, $0.79 each after, included on Plus). Housecall Pro publishes its plans ($59, $149 and $299 a month billed annually) but not the price of CSR AI, its Voice phone system or HCP Assist live answering. Pick the FSM for how you run jobs; then pick the phone setup separately. A standalone AI answering service fits when after-hours emergencies, Spanish-speaking callers or a possible platform switch matter more than booking straight onto the FSM calendar.

In short: Jobber publishes every price, including its AI Receptionist ($29 a month for 30 conversations, $0.79 each after, or included on Plus). Housecall Pro publishes its three plans ($59, $149 and $299 a month billed annually) but not the price of CSR AI, its Voice phone system or HCP Assist live answering. Choose the field-service software for how you run jobs, then choose how your phone gets answered as a separate decision.

Local Call AI is not affiliated with Jobber or Housecall Pro. We sell an AI answering service that runs alongside either one, so this comparison sticks to what each company publishes, with the date we read it.

Most "Jobber vs Housecall Pro" comparisons are about scheduling, invoicing and the mobile app. Both do those well, and the differences come down to taste. This one looks at the part that decides whether a job reaches either app at all: the phone. Every figure below is as listed on Jobber's and Housecall Pro's own pages, checked October 11, 2026.

Jobber vs Housecall Pro pricing at a glance

Plan Billed annually Month to month Users included
Jobber Core $29/mo $49/mo 1
Jobber Connect from $99/mo from $139/mo 1 (5 users: $149 / $199)
Jobber Grow from $149/mo from $199/mo 1 (5 users: $229 / $299)
Jobber Plus from $399/mo from $499/mo 5
Housecall Pro Basic $59/mo $79/mo 1
Housecall Pro Essentials $149/mo $189/mo 5
Housecall Pro MAX $299/mo $329/mo 8 ($35/mo per extra user)

Jobber prices by plan and team size, and charges $29 a month per extra user. Housecall Pro bundles users into each plan. For a five-person shop the entry points land in the same place: Jobber Connect for five users is $149 a month billed annually, and so is Housecall Pro Essentials. The gap opens at the top: Jobber Plus starts at $399 for five users, Housecall Pro MAX at $299 for eight.

How each one answers the phone

This is where the two companies take different routes.

Jobber sells one AI product for the phone. Jobber's AI Receptionist answers calls and texts on a dedicated Jobber phone number (available in the US, Canada and the UK). According to Jobber's help center, updated July 9, 2026, it can capture requests, book visits using your online booking settings, reschedule or cancel appointments, and transfer a call to your escalation contact. It's a $29-a-month add-on with 30 conversations included and $0.79 for each extra conversation, and it's included with unlimited usage on Plus. Spam and "no conversation" calls don't count. Jobber also lists two-way texting from the Grow plan up.

Housecall Pro sells three phone products, none with a published price:

  • CSR AI, Housecall Pro's AI customer service rep. It answers calls and website chats, with texts in alpha, schedules jobs based on your schedule and service preferences, and can send the call to a number you choose or to an HCP Assist rep.
  • Voice, an add-on phone system to "manage calls, set up flows, and sync customer information."
  • HCP Assist, a live answering service. Trained agents answer on weekday, weekend or 24/7 coverage, and Housecall Pro says they can book jobs onto your Housecall Pro calendar. Plans are measured in minutes, with a per-minute overflow rate billed at the end of the cycle. There's a 14-day free trial.

Housecall Pro's pricing page also says "AI team members" are included in every plan. CSR AI is listed separately as an add-on.

Phone question Jobber Housecall Pro
AI that answers calls AI Receptionist CSR AI
Published price $29/mo for 30 conversations, $0.79 each after; included on Plus Not published
Answers texts Yes In alpha
Answers website chat Not listed Yes
Live human answering Not offered HCP Assist, minute plans, price not published
Business phone system Not listed on the pricing page Voice add-on, price not published
Languages Not stated in the help article Not stated on the CSR AI page

What the AI receptionist costs at real call volumes

Only Jobber's can be calculated from public numbers. At 100 conversations a month, the add-on comes to about $84 ($29 plus 70 extra conversations at $0.79). At 250 it's about $203. On Plus it's included, which makes it the cheapest AI receptionist you can buy if you were going to be on Plus anyway.

For Housecall Pro, ask the sales team for the CSR AI price at your busiest month's call volume, in writing, and ask whether it's billed per call, per minute or flat. Do the same for HCP Assist minutes.

Which one fits which shop

Neither is better across the board. A few honest rules of thumb from the published plans:

  • If you want to know your full bill before a sales call, Jobber publishes every number, including the AI. Housecall Pro publishes the software and quotes the phone products.
  • If you want human answering from the same vendor, only Housecall Pro offers it, through HCP Assist.
  • If you're a one-person shop, Jobber Core at $29 a month billed annually is the lowest entry price on either list, and the AI Receptionist add-on stays cheap at low volume.
  • If you're six to eight people, Housecall Pro MAX includes eight users at $299 a month billed annually. On Jobber, users past the plan's count are $29 a month each.

Run a free trial of both with your own price book and two weeks of real jobs before you decide. Migrating customer history later is the expensive part.

The calls a bundled AI receptionist gets wrong

Bundled receptionists are built to fill the calendar, and for routine calls that's exactly right. The calls to test are the ones that shouldn't wait for the calendar. A homeowner calls at 9pm on a Saturday because the heat is out, and the AI offers the next open routine slot on Monday. The dashboard counts a booking. The customer calls a competitor.

Both companies give you escalation settings: Jobber transfers or texts you based on what you tell it to listen for, and Housecall Pro says CSR AI always escalates emergency calls. Whether either catches your emergencies, described in a caller's own words, is something to test before you rely on it. Our reviews of Jobber's AI Receptionist and Housecall Pro's CSR AI go deeper on each.

Where a standalone AI answering service fits

A standalone service answers your existing business number, whichever FSM you run, and keeps working if you switch. It makes sense when:

  • After-hours emergencies are a big share of your revenue, and you want your own emergency-versus-routine rules and after-hours rates built in.
  • You get Spanish-speaking callers. Neither vendor's AI page states which languages it supports.
  • You don't want to configure it yourself.
  • You might change FSMs, or run more than one.

Here's how Local Call AI fits with each, plainly:

With Jobber: on the Connected plan ($497 a month, 500 minutes, no setup fee), each call is filed in your Jobber account as a client and a service request. It does not book visits onto your Jobber schedule or read your Jobber availability; your office schedules from the request. Jobber's own receptionist does book visits, and that's its real advantage.

With Housecall Pro: Local Call AI works alongside your Housecall Pro account, with no connection to it. It answers and qualifies the call, books on your Google Calendar or Cal.com calendar if you connect one or takes a detailed callback request, and every call's summary, transcript and recording arrive in your portal with an email alert so your team can enter the job in Housecall Pro.

Plans are Standard at $297 a month with 250 minutes, Connected at $497 with 500 and Concierge from $750 with 1,000, all with $0.35 a minute past the allowance, English and Spanish on every plan, and emergency live transfer to your on-call tech on Concierge. It tells callers it's an AI when they ask. If your calls are simple and you're already on Jobber Plus, the included receptionist will likely cost you less, and we'd say so on a sales call too.

For per-trade detail, see our Jobber answering service and Housecall Pro answering service pages, and the wider answering service cost breakdown.

Five calls to make before you commit

Run these against whichever receptionist you're considering, ours included:

  1. A no-heat or no-water call at 9pm on a Saturday, in plain words with no keywords.
  2. A routine request at 7pm. Does it handle after-hours pricing your way?
  3. "Can I talk to a person?"
  4. A caller who switches to Spanish.
  5. A returning customer asking about an open job.

Our guide to testing an AI receptionist has a scorecard.

Frequently asked questions

Is Jobber or Housecall Pro cheaper?

It depends on team size. As listed in October 2026, Jobber Core is $29 a month billed annually for one user and Housecall Pro Basic is $59. At five users, Jobber Connect and Housecall Pro Essentials are both $149 a month billed annually. At the top, Jobber Plus starts at $399 for five users and Housecall Pro MAX is $299 for eight.

Does Jobber have an AI receptionist?

Yes. Jobber's AI Receptionist is a $29-a-month add-on with 30 conversations included and $0.79 for each additional conversation, or included with unlimited usage on the Plus plan, according to Jobber's help center (updated July 9, 2026). It answers calls and texts on a dedicated number and can book visits using your online booking settings.

How much does Housecall Pro's AI receptionist cost?

Housecall Pro doesn't publish a price for CSR AI. As of October 2026, its pricing page lists CSR AI as an add-on without a price, so you'll need a quote. Its pricing page separately says AI team members are included in every plan.

Does Housecall Pro have a live answering service?

Yes, HCP Assist. Trained agents answer on weekday, weekend or 24/7 coverage and can book jobs onto your Housecall Pro calendar. Plans are measured in minutes with a per-minute overflow rate, and Housecall Pro doesn't publish the price.

Which is better for HVAC or plumbing, Jobber or Housecall Pro?

Both serve HVAC and plumbing shops. The phone side matters more in those trades because emergencies come in after hours. Test each AI receptionist with a plain-words emergency call before you rely on it, and price your busiest month.

Can I use Local Call AI with Jobber or Housecall Pro?

Yes. With Jobber, the Connected plan ($497 a month, 500 minutes) files each call in Jobber as a client and a service request; it doesn't book onto the Jobber schedule. With Housecall Pro, Local Call AI works alongside your account with no connection: calls arrive in your portal with an email alert and your team enters the job.

Is Local Call AI affiliated with Jobber or Housecall Pro?

No. Local Call AI is an independent AI answering service and isn't affiliated with, endorsed by or a partner of either company.

Stop missing calls. Start growing.

Local Call AI answers every call 24/7, books appointments, and qualifies leads for $297/mo.